Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Regulations for registration and participation in the regatta


The primary purpose of the “Didovinveslun” rowing regatta is not competition or victory, and neither is the mere participation. The primary goal is to revive the memory of a way of life at sea and the use of a specific type of boat. Therefore, any originality in appearance, equipment or rowing method gives a competitor a certain advantage in the form of a prize or some other form.
Gajeta, the boat type competing in the regatta, is in principle neither designed nor constructed as a vessel for fast navigation. This boat was built as a multipurpose vessel intended for managing overseas estates, which essentially means transportation of goods to the home port. It is a heavy laborer boats, not intended for competition, with hardness and stability as its main features.
For this reason, competitors are asked to observe the rules for avoiding collisions at sea while sailing in the regatta, but also to take into account the maneuvering disadvantages of this type of boat.


The regatta is held as part of the “Days of Lateen sails” manifestation. It usually takes place the first Sunday after the Nativity of the Virgin Mary.
The regatta takes place in the Hramina bay and the start is always from the Starariva in Murter. Taking into account the weather conditions, the exact starting point and method, as well as the sailing course, are all determined by the Regatta Committee on the day of the competition.
In case of unfavorable weather conditions the regatta is first postponed until a later time in the same day, and if the weather conditions are such that the regatta cannot take place on the same day, then it is postponed for the following Sunday at the same time, which is decided and published by the Organizer in the Notice of competition. In case the regatta cannot be held at the secondary term, in case of force majeure and in case of insufficient number of crews registered – 4 minimum – the competition shall be canceled for that year.


The competition is organized by the Latinskoidro Association from Murter.
The Organizing Committee is composed of elected representatives of the organizer, co-organizers and sponsors.
The Regatta and Umpire Committee consists of four umpires, each from one of the four villages on the island (Betina, Jezera, Murter and Tisno). The head of the Committee is the Chief Umpire, appointed by the Organizing Committee. The villages delegate the umpires each year. Chief Umpire is appointed until recall.


Notice of competition is issued by the Organizer no later than 20 days before the competition and it shall be communicated to the participants by publication in the media, on social networks and websites, by direct informing and in other ways.
Registration for the regatta is filled in on a special form, and all the details shall be duly communicated to the competitors by the Organizer.


Boats compete in one category:
GAJETA – from 5.30 to 7 meters long


The Organizer shall arrange a public draw of starting positions before the competition. The place and time of the public draw of starting positions shall be specified by the Organizer in the Notice of competition.
The helmsmen meeting is held at the Starariva, Hramina, one hour before the start of the competition. At the helmsmen meeting, competitors shall be given the procedural instructions on the competition itself.
Only traditionally built gajeta may compete.
Since nowadays all boats have engines and propellers, these must be present at the start. It is not permitted to remove any part of the equipment. Possible competitors in boats that have never had an engine and propeller installed are welcome.
Each crew may register up to 9 rowers, including helmsman. During the regatta there can be a maximum of 4 rowers and one helmsman in the gajeta. Depending on the route length, the Regatta Committee may decide that during rowing an individual rower may be replaced by a reserve member from the accompanying boat. Such substitution shall be made in accordance with the special rules communicated by the Regatta Committee to the competitors at the helmsmen meeting.


The boats shall be inspected by a special Technical Committee appointed by the Regatta Committee. On the recommendation of the Technical Committee, the Regatta Committee has the right to disqualify any crew whose equipment and boat do not comply with the regulations.


During the race, a crew which thinks they have been damaged by an act of a competing crew has the right to protest (flag raised by the helmsman). Upon the umpire’s approach, the helmsman shall verbally communicate their protest.
The umpire may decide on the sport and penalize the damaging party, or do it at the end of the race.


The winner of the “Didovinveslun” regatta is awarded the cup trophy “Velikasohasv. Roka”. The permanent owner of the trophy is the Latinskoidro Association. The name of the winning crew is permanently inscribed on the trophy. The trophy is handed at the end of the competition for the purpose of taking photographs and for other promotional purposes. At the end of the event, the trophy is returned to the Betina Museum of Wooden Shipbuilding, where it is displayed during the year. The Museum is responsible for keeping the trophy.
The winner also receives a cash prize. The Organizing Committee decides the amount of the cash prize each year and publishes the amount in the Notice of competition.
The top three crews shall receive a medal, and all participants shall receive a Participation Certificate.


Each boat and all competitors participate in the regatta at their own risk. The Organizer disclaims all liability for any damage or injury to competitors, boats or third parties, whether at sea or on land before, during and after the regatta, or for the consequences of the regatta itself.

Sign Up to Our Newsletter

Be the first to know the latest updates

Whoops, you're not connected to Mailchimp. You need to enter a valid Mailchimp API key.